The List

Day two of the Slice of Life Challenge!  So far, so good 🙂  Check out the Two Writing Teachers’ blog to find out more about this month-long challenge.

I can have a variety of lists on any given day.  I’ve got my shopping list on the fridge, my daily to-do list in my planner, my weekly itinerary, (do my Pinterest boards of recipes and DIYs count as lists??), and a number of other things floating around in my head.

I used to hate writing lists.  Not sure why, but I did.  Now, I love them! I feel like when I write them I can accomplish anything.

Today, I felt overwhelmed with homework and housework so I sat down and wrote my list, expecting it to take up most of my sticky note.  Here’s what I wrote:

  1. TE 306
  2. Study for Adol. Lit (426)
  3. Film still of “B.A.T.” (427)
  4. Blog for SOLSC
  5. Clean

Three of those items are homework I need to get done, #4 and #5 are self-expanatory 😉  What I’ve come to realize is that just because I make a list, doesn’t mean I get everything done.  I wrote this list this afternoon to make sure I finished those five items.  It wouldn’t be too hard, right?

Wrong.

I finished my homework for my Teacher Education course and created a differentiated activity (yay!) and then I started my Slice of Life.  I’m not entirely sure what happened, but I wrote a few lines…felt a little drowsy…and suddenly it was two hours later!

Oops!!

So suddenly it was time to start making supper (steak on our griddle with baked potatoes–YUM) and…..

 *time-out* the Oscars started……..

Okay, I’m focused again.

Maybe 😉

Anyways, lists don’t mean that I will get anything done.  Today, among many other days, have proven that to me.  Lists do, however, provide me direction and help me prioritize.

Speaking of prioritizing, I’ve got a test tomorrow!

Until tomorrow’s post,

L

Image

14 thoughts on “The List

  1. Andrea Payan (@payanar) says:

    I am the same way with my lists. When I really need to focus and prioritize, I make a list. I am never able to get all the way through the lists, but it does always help me feel more productive to be crossing off tasks as I finish.

    Like

  2. nzshamm says:

    So true! This happens to me all of the time! The items on the list that have to be done by a certain day always get done, but then the items that can be completed at any time…are always delayed! Good luck!

    Like

  3. kd0602 says:

    I have a similar love-hate relationship with lists! I make them…and then ignore them. (Well, maybe not ignore them, but the act of list making seems to give me permission to not dwell on the things listed. After all, they are on a list, I won’t forget, right?) I had 5 things on my shortlist to day…two are done, two are in progress, and one I haven’t touched yet. The advantage I have is that I am on west coast time…so I still have hours ahead of me before this day is done! Good luck on your test tomorrow!

    Like

    • ehutchison says:

      Exactly! I have come to realize that just because it goes on my list doesn’t mean that it will actually get done, even though I wish that is how it worked! Good luck on finishing your list, as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

